Advertisement

mean (v.1)

"打算,心里有数;"中英语 mēnen ,来自古英语 mænan "打算(做某事),计划。在使用一个词时,表示(某个对象)或传达(某个意义),"来自于原西日耳曼语 *menjojanan (也是古弗里斯兰语 mena "表示"、古撒克逊语 menian "打算、表示、使人知道"、荷兰语 menen 、德语 meinen "认为"的来源。suppose,be of the opinion"),来自PIE *meino- "意见,意图"(来源也是古教会斯拉夫语 meniti "思考,有意见",古爱尔兰语 mian "希望,愿望",威尔士语 mwyn "享受"),也许来自根 *men- (1)"思考。"

自14世纪末作"有特定的意图"(如对 mean well )。对人或事物,"要有一定的责任,要紧(要)",到1888年。对话题 you know what I mean? 到1834年证明。

mean (adj.1)

13世纪, mēne ,"人人共享,共同的,一般的",这个意义现在已经过时了,从 imene ,从古英语 gemæne "共同的,公共的,一般的,普遍的,人人共享的",从原日耳曼语 *ga-mainiz "共同拥有的"(来源也是古弗里斯兰语 mene ,古撒克逊语 gimeni ,中低德语 gemeine 。中荷语 gemene ,荷兰语 gemeen ,德语 gemein ,哥特语 gamains "共同"),来自 PIE *ko-moin-i- "共同持有",是一个复合形容词,由集体前缀 *ko- "一起"(原日耳曼语 *ga- )+ *moi-n- ,PIE词根 *mei- (1) "改变"的后缀形式形成。交换。"比较 common (adj.)中的第二要素,这个词的意义演变与本词平行。

意思是"出身普通或低下,等级或地位低下"(人),是14世纪早期的证据。"普通的,成就或技能低下"的意义是14世纪晚期的,也是14世纪晚期的,作为"质量差,价值不高",虽然这个意义在美国比在英国存活的时间长。詹姆斯-斯特林在"来自奴隶制国家的信件"[1857年,伦敦]中提到 mean whites (南方贫穷的白人从事体力劳动,被奴隶们看不起)时指出:"'卑鄙'是美国人对'贫穷'、'寒酸'的一种说法。他们在这里说的是'卑鄙'的旅馆,'卑鄙'的晚餐,等等"。

贬义的"没有心灵的尊严,没有荣誉感,心态低下"来自1660年代;具体的"吝啬,讨厌"的意思到1755年就有了记载;较弱的"不听话,小气地冒犯"的意思来自1839年,最初是美国的英语俚语。所有这些英语单词的发展都因其在形式上与 mean (adj.2)"中庸,middling"不谋而合而更进一步,后者也曾被用于贬义,OED指出,它所引用的 mean 的一些用法"可能几乎同样是指本地人和外来的adj.;事实可能是它们的祖先是混合的"。

"非常好"(如 plays a mean Rhythm Master )的倒置意义最早记录于20世纪,或许来自短语 no mean _______ "不差"(1590年代,也有"不一般"的意思,反映出进一步与 mean (adj.2.))。

mean (n.)

"that point, place, or state which is halfway between extremes;" 14世纪 ,最初在音乐中,"一个音在两个其他音之间的中间音,"来自古法语 meien "middle, means, intermediary",名词性使用的形容词,来自晚期拉丁语 medianus "of or that is in the middle",来自拉丁语 medius "in the middle",来自PIE根 *medhyo- "middle"。

英语中的现代意义范围多出现在14世纪末。"行动的过程;方法,达到目的的方式"(如 ways and means; by means of ; by all means; by no means );也有"黄金的平均值,适度"和"物理上介于两个极端之间的东西"。数学意义上的"具有介于其他量值之间的值的量,将几个量相加后除以它们的数目所得到的平均数"是从15世纪中叶开始的,有些意义反映了与 mean (adj.1)的混淆。

mean (v.2)

"计算算术平均数",1882年,来自 mean (n. )。

mean (adj.2)

"占据中间或中间的地方;"14世纪中叶,人称,"中级"(但这可能来自,或与 mean (adj.1)混用);来自英法 meines (复数),古法语 meien ,变体 moiien "中,中,普通,中产阶级"(12世纪,现代法语 moyen ),来自拉丁语晚期 medianus "中间的",来自拉丁语 medius "中间"(来自PIE根 *medhyo- "中间")。

14世纪末起作"处于中间状态,两个极端之间"。意为"在时间上处于中间状态,在两个事件或时间点之间来",来自15世纪中叶( meanwhilemeantime )的意义。数学意义上的"在若干较大或较小的数值、数量或金额中处于中间状态"是从14世纪末开始的。

Others are reading

Advertisement
Advertisement
Definitions of mean from WordNet
1
mean (adj.)
marked by poverty befitting a beggar;
a mean hut
Synonyms: beggarly
mean (adj.)
approximating the statistical norm or average or expected value;
the mean annual rainfall
Synonyms: average
mean (adj.)
characterized by malice;
in a mean mood
Synonyms: hateful
mean (adj.)
having or showing an ignoble lack of honor or morality; "that liberal obedience without which your army would be a base rabble"- Edmund Burke; "chok'd with ambition of the meaner sort"- Shakespeare;
taking a mean advantage
Synonyms: base / meanspirited
mean (adj.)
excellent;
famous for a mean backhand
mean (adj.)
(used of persons or behavior) characterized by or indicative of lack of generosity;
a mean person
Synonyms: mingy / miserly / tight
mean (adj.)
(used of sums of money) so small in amount as to deserve contempt;
Synonyms: beggarly
mean (adj.)
of no value or worth;
Synonyms: bastardly
2
mean (v.)
mean or intend to express or convey;
You never understand what I mean!
Synonyms: intend
mean (v.)
have as a logical consequence;
The water shortage means that we have to stop taking long showers
Synonyms: entail / imply
mean (v.)
denote or connote;
An example sentence would show what this word means
`maison' means `house' in French
Synonyms: intend / signify / stand for
mean (v.)
have in mind as a purpose;
I mean no harm
I only meant to help you
Synonyms: intend / think
mean (v.)
have a specified degree of importance;
My ex-husband means nothing to me
Happiness means everything
mean (v.)
intend to refer to;
Yes, I meant you when I complained about people who gossip!
Synonyms: think of / have in mind
mean (v.)
destine or designate for a certain purpose;
These flowers were meant for you
3
mean (n.)
an average of n numbers computed by adding some function of the numbers and dividing by some function of n;
Synonyms: mean value
From wordnet.princeton.edu

Etymology
Advertisement

mean (v.1)

"intend, have in mind;" Middle English mēnen, from Old English mænan "intend (to do something), plan; indicate (a certain object) or convey (a certain sense) when using a word," from Proto-West Germanic *menjojanan (source also of Old Frisian mena "to signify," Old Saxon menian "to intend, signify, make known," Dutch menen, German meinen "think, suppose, be of the opinion"), from PIE *meino- "opinion, intent" (source also of Old Church Slavonic meniti "to think, have an opinion," Old Irish mian "wish, desire," Welsh mwyn "enjoyment"), perhaps from root *men- (1) "to think."

From late 14c. as "have intentions of a specified kind" (as in to mean well). Of a person or thing, "to be of some account, to matter (to)," by 1888. Conversational question you know what I mean? attested by 1834.

mean (adj.1)

c. 1200, mēne, "shared by all, common, general," a sense now obsolete, shortened from imene, from Old English gemæne "common, public, general, universal, shared by all," from Proto-Germanic *ga-mainiz "possessed jointly" (source also of Old Frisian mene, Old Saxon gimeni, Middle Low German gemeine, Middle Dutch gemene, Dutch gemeen, German gemein, Gothic gamains "common"), from PIE *ko-moin-i- "held in common," a compound adjective formed from collective prefix *ko- "together" (Proto-Germanic *ga-) + *moi-n-, suffixed form of PIE root *mei- (1) "to change; exchange." Compare second element in common (adj.), a word with a sense evolution parallel to that of this word.

Meaning "of common or low origin, inferior in rank or status" (of persons) is attested from early 14c. Sense of "ordinary, inferior in attainment or skill" is from late 14c. Also from late 14c. as "poor in quality, of little value," though this sense survived longer in American than in England. James Stirling, in "Letters from the Slave States" [London, 1857], mentioning mean whites (poor whites in the South who do manual labor and are looked down on by the slaves) notes, " 'Mean' is an Americanism for 'poor,' 'shabby.' They speak here of a 'mean' hotel, a 'mean' dinner, &c."

The pejorative sense of "without dignity of mind, destitute of honor, low-minded" is from 1660s; the specific sense of "stingy, niggardly" is recorded by 1755; the weaker sense of "disobliging, pettily offensive" is from 1839, originally American English slang. All these developments of the English word were furthered by its coincidence in form with mean (adj.2) "middle, middling," which also was used in disparaging senses, and OED notes that some usages of mean it cites "might be referred almost equally to the native and to the foreign adj.; the truth is probably that they are of mixed ancestry."

The inverted sense of "remarkably good" (as in plays a mean Rhythm Master) first recorded c. 1900, perhaps from phrase no mean _______ "not inferior" (1590s, also, "not average," reflecting further confusion with mean (adj.2.)).

mean (n.)

"that point, place, or state which is halfway between extremes;" c. 1300, originally in music, "a tone intermediate between two other tones," from Old French meien "middle, means, intermediary," noun use of adjective from Late Latin medianus "of or that is in the middle," from Latin medius "in the middle," from PIE root *medhyo- "middle."

The modern range of senses in English mostly appeared late 14c.: "course of action; method, way of attaining an end" (as in ways and means;by means of; by all means; by no means); also "the golden mean, moderation;" and "something physically between two extremes." The mathematical sense, "a quantity having a value intermediate between the values of other quantities, the average obtained by adding several quantities together and dividing the sum by their number" is from mid-15c. Some senses reflect confusion with mean (adj.1).

mean (v.2)

"calculate an arithmetical mean," 1882, from mean (n.).

mean (adj.2)

"occupying a middle or intermediate place;" mid-14c., of persons, "of middle rank" (but this is possibly from, or mixed with, mean (adj.1)); from Anglo-French meines (plural), Old French meien, variant of moiien "mid-, medium, common, middle-class" (12c., Modern French moyen), from Late Latin medianus "of the middle," from Latin medius "in the middle" (from PIE root *medhyo- "middle").

From late 14c. as "in a middle state, between two extremes." Meaning "intermediate in time, coming between two events or points in time" is from mid-15c. (the sense in meanwhile, meantime). The mathematical sense "intermediate in a number of greater or lesser values, quantities, or amounts" is from late 14c.

Others are reading

Advertisement
Advertisement
Definitions of mean
1
mean (adj.)
marked by poverty befitting a beggar;
a mean hut
Synonyms: beggarly
mean (adj.)
approximating the statistical norm or average or expected value;
the mean annual rainfall
Synonyms: average
mean (adj.)
characterized by malice;
in a mean mood
Synonyms: hateful
mean (adj.)
having or showing an ignoble lack of honor or morality; "that liberal obedience without which your army would be a base rabble"- Edmund Burke; "chok'd with ambition of the meaner sort"- Shakespeare;
taking a mean advantage
Synonyms: base / meanspirited
mean (adj.)
excellent;
famous for a mean backhand
mean (adj.)
(used of persons or behavior) characterized by or indicative of lack of generosity;
a mean person
Synonyms: mingy / miserly / tight
mean (adj.)
(used of sums of money) so small in amount as to deserve contempt;
Synonyms: beggarly
mean (adj.)
of no value or worth;
Synonyms: bastardly
2
mean (v.)
mean or intend to express or convey;
You never understand what I mean!
Synonyms: intend
mean (v.)
have as a logical consequence;
The water shortage means that we have to stop taking long showers
Synonyms: entail / imply
mean (v.)
denote or connote;
An example sentence would show what this word means
`maison' means `house' in French
Synonyms: intend / signify / stand for
mean (v.)
have in mind as a purpose;
I mean no harm
I only meant to help you
Synonyms: intend / think
mean (v.)
have a specified degree of importance;
My ex-husband means nothing to me
Happiness means everything
mean (v.)
intend to refer to;
Yes, I meant you when I complained about people who gossip!
Synonyms: think of / have in mind
mean (v.)
destine or designate for a certain purpose;
These flowers were meant for you
3
mean (n.)
an average of n numbers computed by adding some function of the numbers and dividing by some function of n;
Synonyms: mean value
From wordnet.princeton.edu