Advertisement

black (adj.)

古英语 blæc "绝对黑暗,吸收所有的光,烟灰或煤的颜色",来自于原日耳曼语 *blakaz "烧毁"(来源也是古北欧语 blakkr "黑暗",古高德语 blah "黑色",瑞典语 bläck "墨水",荷兰语 blaken "燃烧"),来自于PIE *bhleg- "燃烧、闪光、闪耀"(来源也是希腊语 phlegein "燃烧、焦灼",拉丁语 flagrare "炽热、发光、燃烧"),来自于根 *bhel- (1)"闪耀、闪光、燃烧"。

同一个词根产生了古英语 blac "明亮、闪耀、闪光、苍白";连接的概念也许是"火"(明亮)和"燃烧"(黑暗),也许是"没有颜色"。"没有什么比指定颜色的词的符号更多变的了"[Hensleigh Wedgwood, "A Dictionary of English Etymology," 1859]。

通常古英语的"黑"字是 sweart (见 swart )。根据OED的说法。"在ME.经常有疑问的是, blac , blak , blake , 是指"黑色,黑暗"还是"苍白,无色,苍白,生动"。" 在古英语中用于黑皮肤的人。

1796年证明的无添加的咖啡。 Black drop (1823年)是鸦片的液体制剂,药用。 Black-fly (17世纪)是用来对付各种昆虫的,特别是美国北部森林中一种恼人的害虫。 Black Prince 15世纪60年代,爱德华三世长子的绰号"爱德华"被证实为"爱德华";确切的含义不确定。

意思是"凶猛、可怕、邪恶",来自14世纪晚期 形象化的意义往往来自"无光"的概念,道德的或精神的。拉丁文 niger ,也有许多同样的形象意义("阴暗的;不吉利的;坏的、邪恶的、恶意的")。然而,希腊语 melas ,其隐喻用法往往反映了"笼罩在黑暗中,阴天"的概念。在英语中,它至少从14世纪起就成了罪恶和悲伤的颜色;"具有黑暗目的、恶毒"的意义出现在1580年代(在 black art "巫术";也是 black magic )。 Black flag "忧郁",作为"不留情面"的信号(尤其是海盗),是1590年代的事。 Black dog "忧郁"证自1826年。

Black belt 忧郁"来自1870年,指美国南部非洲人口最多的地区(有时也指土壤的肥沃程度);1913年在柔道的意义上被证实,由达到一定高度熟练的人佩戴。 Black power 是1966年的,与斯托克利-卡迈克尔有关。 Black English "非裔美国人说的英语",是到1969年。的。 Black Panther 1965年)运动是学生非暴力协调委员会的产物。 Black studies 是从1968年开始证明的。

Origin and meaning of black

black (v.)

13世纪 ,本义,"变成黑色;"14世纪初,本义,"使黑色,变黑,涂上黑色;"来自 black ( adj.)。尤其是"把(靴子、鞋子等)涂黑、刷亮"(1550年代)。相关链接: Blacked ; blacking .

black (n.)

古英语 blæc "黑色的颜色",也有"墨色",出自名词用法 black (形容词)。来自14世纪末,作"眼瞳中的黑斑"。意为"皮肤黝黑的人,非洲人",出自1620年代(也许是13世纪末, blackamoor ,出自1540年代)。意为"黑色的衣服"(尤其是服丧时穿的)是15世纪的 。

意思是"在 black-and-white 意思是在书写或印刷中,是来自1650年代( white-and-black 是来自1590年代);这个概念是白纸上的黑色字符。在视觉艺术中,"除了黑和白,没有其他颜色",它是由1870年的素描,1883年的照片。要 in the black (1922年)来自于用黑色墨水记录贷方和余额的会计惯例。

For years it has been a common practice to use red ink instead of black in showing a loss or deficit on corporate books, but not until the heavy losses of 1921 did the contrast in colors come to have a widely understood meaning. [Saturday Evening Post, July 22, 1922]

Others are reading

Advertisement
Advertisement
Definitions of black from WordNet
1
black (adj.)
being of the achromatic color of maximum darkness; having little or no hue owing to absorption of almost all incident light;
rich black soil
black leather jackets
as black as coal
black (adj.)
of or belonging to a racial group especially of sub-Saharan African origin; "a great people--a black people--...injected new meaning and dignity into the veins of civilization"- Martin Luther King Jr.;
black (adj.)
marked by anger or resentment or hostility;
black looks
black words
black (adj.)
offering little or no hope; "Life in the Aran Islands has always been bleak and difficult"- J.M.Synge;
the future looked black
Synonyms: bleak / dim
black (adj.)
stemming from evil characteristics or forces; wicked or dishonorable; "the scheme of some sinister intelligence bent on punishing him"-Thomas Hardy;
a black lie
black deeds
his black heart has concocted yet another black deed
Synonyms: dark / sinister
black (adj.)
(of events) having extremely unfortunate or dire consequences; bringing ruin; "such doctrines, if true, would be absolutely fatal to my theory"- Charles Darwin; "it is fatal to enter any war without the will to win it"- Douglas MacArthur;
black (adj.)
(of the face) made black especially as with suffused blood;
a face black with fury
Synonyms: blackened
black (adj.)
extremely dark;
a black moonless night
through the pitch-black woods
Synonyms: pitch-black / pitch-dark
black (adj.)
harshly ironic or sinister;
black humor
Synonyms: grim / mordant
black (adj.)
(of intelligence operations) deliberately misleading;
black propaganda
black (adj.)
distributed or sold illicitly;
the black economy pays no taxes
Synonyms: bootleg / black-market / contraband / smuggled
black (adj.)
(used of conduct or character) deserving or bringing disgrace or shame; "Man...has written one of his blackest records as a destroyer on the oceanic islands"- Rachel Carson;
black (adj.)
(of coffee) without cream or sugar;
black (adj.)
soiled with dirt or soot;
with feet black from playing outdoors
his shirt was black within an hour
Synonyms: smutty
2
black (n.)
the quality or state of the achromatic color of least lightness (bearing the least resemblance to white);
Synonyms: blackness / inkiness
black (n.)
total absence of light;
in the black of night
Synonyms: total darkness / lightlessness / blackness / pitch blackness
black (n.)
(board games) the darker pieces;
black (n.)
black clothing (worn as a sign of mourning);
the widow wore black
3
black (v.)
make or become black;
Synonyms: blacken / melanize / melanise
4
Black (n.)
British chemist who identified carbon dioxide and who formulated the concepts of specific heat and latent heat (1728-1799);
Synonyms: Joseph Black
Black (n.)
popular child actress of the 1930's (born in 1928);
Synonyms: Shirley Temple Black / Shirley Temple
Black (n.)
a person with African ancestry, "Negro" and "Negroid" are archaic and pejorative today;
From wordnet.princeton.edu

black (adj.)

Old English blæc "absolutely dark, absorbing all light, the color of soot or coal," from Proto-Germanic *blakaz "burned" (source also of Old Norse blakkr "dark," Old High German blah "black," Swedish bläck "ink," Dutch blaken "to burn"), from PIE *bhleg- "to burn, gleam, shine, flash" (source also of Greek phlegein "to burn, scorch," Latin flagrare "to blaze, glow, burn"), from root *bhel-(1) "to shine, flash, burn."

The same root produced Old English blac "bright, shining, glittering, pale;" the connecting notions being, perhaps, "fire" (bright) and "burned" (dark). The usual Old English word for "black" was sweart (see swart). According to OED: "In ME. it is often doubtful whether blac, blak, blake, means 'black, dark,' or 'pale, colourless, wan, livid.' " Used of dark-skinned people in Old English.

Of coffee with nothing added, attested by 1796. Black drop (1823) was a liquid preparation of opium, used medicinally. Black-fly (c. 1600) was used of various insects, especially an annoying pest of the northern American woods. Black Prince as a nickname of the eldest son of Edward III is attested by 1560s; the exact signification is uncertain.

Meaning "fierce, terrible, wicked" is from late 14c. Figurative senses often come from the notion of "without light," moral or spiritual. Latin niger had many of the same figurative senses ("gloomy; unlucky; bad, wicked, malicious"). The metaphoric use of the Greek word, melas, however, tended to reflect the notion of "shrouded in darkness, overcast." In English it has been the color of sin and sorrow at least since c. 1300; the sense of "with dark purposes, malignant" emerged 1580s (in black art "necromancy;" it is also the sense in black magic). Black flag, flown (especially by pirates) as a signal of "no mercy," is from 1590s. Black dog "melancholy" attested from 1826.

Black belt is from 1870 in reference to district extending across the U.S. South with heaviest African population (also sometimes in reference to the fertility of the soil); it is attested from 1913 in the judo sense, worn by one who has attained a certain high degree of proficiency. Black power is from 1966, associated with Stokely Carmichael. Black English "English as spoken by African-Americans," is by 1969. The Black Panther (1965) movement was an outgrowth of Student Nonviolent Co-ordinating Committee. Black studies is attested from 1968.

black (n.)

Old English blæc "the color black," also "ink," from noun use of black (adj.). From late 14c. as "dark spot in the pupil of the eye." The meaning "dark-skinned person, African" is from 1620s (perhaps late 13c., and blackamoor is from 1540s). Meaning "black clothing" (especially when worn in mourning) is from c. 1400.

To be in black-and-white, meaning in writing or in print, is from 1650s (white-and-black is from 1590s); the notion is of black characters on white paper. In the visual arts, "with no colors but black and white," it is by 1870 of sketches, 1883 of photographs. To be in the black (1922) is from the accounting practice of recording credits and balances in black ink.

For years it has been a common practice to use red ink instead of black in showing a loss or deficit on corporate books, but not until the heavy losses of 1921 did the contrast in colors come to have a widely understood meaning. ["Saturday Evening Post," July 22, 1922]

black (v.)

c. 1200, intrans., "to become black;" early 14c., trans., "to make black, darken, put a black color on;" from black (adj.). Especially "to clean and polish (boots, shoes, etc.) by blacking and brushing them" (1550s). Related: Blacked; blacking.